top of page
Flying Lotus ‘Yasuke’ (Warp)

The new album from FLYING LOTUS, featuring music from the Netflix original anime series ‘Yasuke’.


Red vinyl LP in printed inner sleeve in printed outer wrapped with obi strip plus digital download card insert.


Three years in the making, Netflix’s ‘Yasuke’ is a six- episode anime series created by Bronx-bred and Japan-based television animation creator, producer and director LeSean Thomas (‘Cannon Busters’, ‘Children of Ether’, ‘The Boondocks’) and starring actor / executive producer LaKeith Stanfield (‘Atlanta’, ‘Sorry To Bother You’) as the voice of the title character. ‘Yasuke’ tells the story of a samurai warrior of African descent in a fantastical alternate universe version of feudal Japan full of magic, mechs and of course, swordplay.


A dream project for the producer, Flying Lotus consulted on the story, working alongside renowned
anime creators Studio MAPPA as an executive producer on the project. The skillset of the GRAMMY
Award-winning producer is on complete display on the album, hybridizing synth melodies, bass lines and machine generated drum patterns while exploring new sonic territory - traditional Japanese percussion instruments like the taiko and hyōshigi and west African percussion - a nod to the Afro-Japanese, feudal yet futuristic world Yasuke inhabits.


A1. War at the Door
A2. Black Gold (feat. Thundercat)
A3. Your Lord
A4. Shoreline Sus
A5. Hiding in the Shadows (feat. Niki R